Facebook’s Mark Zuckerberg Criticizes Trump’s Immigration Ban

The CEO of Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg, spoke out on Friday against President Donald Trump’s immigration policies.

In a Facebook post, the multi-billionaire wrote in disagreement with Trump’s promise to build a wall along the Mexican border. Zuckerberg also criticized President Trump’s executive order banning refugees and preventing immigrants from certain countries from entering the United States.

Zuckerberg’s open letter

Zuckerberg opened up about his own European heritage and his hope that America can unite following Trump’s recent executive orders. “We need to keep this country safe, but we should do that by focusing on people who actually pose a threat,” Zuckerberg explained in a Facebook post. “Expanding the focus of law enforcement beyond people who are real threats would make all Americans feel less safe by diverting resources, while millions of undocumented folks who don’t pose a threat will live in fear of deportation.”

Facebook, among many other companies, employs workers from countries around the world to help engineer their technology.

Zuckerberg finished his open letter to Donald Trump by saying, “We are a nation of immigrants, and we all benefit when the best and brightest from around the world can live, work and contribute here. I hope we find the courage and compassion to bring people together and make this world a better place for everyone.” Zuckerberg added, “We should keep our doors open to refugees and those who need help. That’s who we are.”


Donald Trump’s Executive Orders

Donald Trump Executive Orders
Evan El-Amin / Shutterstock, Inc.

On Wednesday, Donald Trump followed through with this campaign promise to “Build the wall”. Trump signed executive orders that would employee thousands of new border patrol officers, deportation agents, and end government funding for sanctuary cities.

On Friday, Trump signed another executive order that banned Syrian refugees from entering the country. According to the executive order, for the next four months, no Syrians are allowed to enter the United States. In addition, for the next three months, no residents of “terror-prone” countries will also be not allowed to enter the U.S; The terror-prone countries include Iran, Iraq, Syria, Sudan, Libya, Yemen, and Somalia.